On the Watch – Answer Me 1997 (Review Edition)

28757233

I had been asking myself a million times, “Why didn’t I watch this show before?” and I still can’t find the answer to that. Well, I honestly had withdrawals with Answer Me 1988 (which is the first show I have watched for the Answer Me Series) and I thought I can’t get over from it. I was totally wrong.

The very reason I watched this show is because of Seo In-guk. I’ve been following him since he was cast in Master’s Sun and, of course, he sings so well. I mean, I really love his voice *squee* >_<  But I was hesitant to watch this specific show for some reasons I wouldn’t know in a million years. Haha!

I have been reading all about this show through wikipedia and, oh my, it was awesome! I may be too young to be nostalgic for 1997 but they have me a feel how good it was to remember the past; to keep memories of how good it was to be in high school, find true friends and fall in love for the first time. I get to see how Kpop bloomed, which I have never seen before and it was fun! I find it really awesome how flawlessly they switch scenes from 1997 to 2012 then back and forth, just to keep us on the loop on the lives of our beloved characters. It was smooth how things in the past and present were connected and interrelated, like things are still the same between them even though they have not seen each other for 6 years . This show is one-of-a-kind –  it made me laugh and cry, then throw tantrums when they keep me in the dark who will marry whom in their future selves. Why didn’t I watch this show before, really?

Is it too much to ask if they can be together in real life? I mean, they look so good together. 🙂

The story revolves around the lives of 5 high-school friends and how they grew up from their friendships, love life, mistakes and dreams. At least I am familiar with the set-up that I had to wait and be thrilled who will marry our Heroine, Sung Shi-Won (Jeong Eun Ji). It’s really funny and nostalgic how she had described her 4 male best friends:

Yoon Yoon-je (Seo In-guk) – the

Kang Joon-hee (Hoya) – the

Do Hak-chan (Eun Ji-won) – the

Bang Sung-je (Lee Si-eon) – the

Their bickering in 2012 makes me think that time had not changed them and the way they communicate, as if they were still their 1997 selves. Oh, how I love to have friends like that. I’m blessed I do have these people in my life.

What I love most about this show is how rich it is with life lessons. From time to time, they keep on sharing the essence of having true friends, a family whom you can rely on, to fight for your true love, to love unconditionally and to love and be loved just as you are, to name a few. I hope this has inspired many youth out there and learn just as how our characters had learned and grow up from their mistakes and decisions in life.

Most of all, I love the Yoon brothers! Their love for each other is priceless. Have you ever seen someone sacrifice that much for his younger brother? I bet it’s a rare case scenario. One of the scenes that is so heartbreaking for me is when Yoon-hyung swap their dates and said he’s sorry to Yoon-je. It pierced his heart, so is mine. *tears*

From now on, I will cherish the Answer Me Series with all my heart. Until the time comes when I had to look back with my own past and cherish my own memories with my friends and love ones, this show will forever be my favorite k-drama of all time.

fffd6129e665e2bae88d8ea30c245acc

Author: kurazo4

...satisfying my kdrama addiction... The other side of me ...

Leave a Reply

